Lipiec 19, 2019, 06:22:13 am

Autor Wątek: Zdolności Mortyfikatorów  (Przeczytany 2509 razy)

0 użytkowników i 1 Gość przegląda ten wątek.

pretorianstalker

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Wiadomości: 5428
    • Zobacz profil
Zdolności Mortyfikatorów
« dnia: Marzec 19, 2009, 01:29:12 pm »

Cytuj
DOOMTROOPER: CONFIRMATION OF MORTIFICATOR ABILITIES

It has recently come to our attention at Target Games AB that there has been
some confusion as to whether or not CRENSHAW THE MORTIFICATOR and NICHOLAI
may attack any warrior in play, just like the regular MORTIFICATOR card may.
 This confusion stems from two sources:  First, in the Mutant Chronicles
setting the Mortificators are the Brotherhood's assasins, and any
Mortificator should obviously be able to attack anyone in play.  Second, this
ability used to be on the CRENSHAW card but was removed when the card was
transferred to the unlimited editon.

As it turns out, the confusion went much deeper than a few players.  In fact,
we discovered that the Doomtrooper designer and the Doomtrooper developers
had been going along for over a year with different answers to this question!
 To make matters even worse, we discovered that we were both right AND wrong
when it came to our individual rulings. It's time to set the matter straight.
First, let's go over the two sides of the conflict.  Then we will provide the
OFFICIAL ruling.  Finally, we will discuss this ruling and provide
clarification.

THE CONFLICT

Here is the problem in a nutshell:  The MORTIFICATOR card states that
Mortificators may attack any warrior in play.  Therefore, any card CONSIDERED
a Mortificator (Crenshaw and Nicholai) would be allowed to attack any warrior
in play as well, right? 

Not quite.  The argument against this assumption is the fact that card
effects do not "transfer" between cards.  In this assumption, the Crenshaw
card would NOT be allowed to attack anyone because it does not specifically
state that he may do so on his card.  The rules on the MORTIFICATOR card only
apply to THAT card. This is a very important aspect of Doomtrooper.

However, the major concern is that Crenshaw and Nicholai SHOULD be able to
attack anyone in play.  We agree, and in fact the developers have been
assuming this all along - as well as a great majority of players.  The
designer, however, was assuming just the opposite.

THE STORY

When the CRENSHAW card was rewritten for the unlimited edition, his ability
to attack anyone in play was erased.  The designer assumed that this was
because the MORTIFICATOR card was given this ability, therefore HIS ability
now was too powerful, and had to be eased back.  This was not the case.

The developers tried in many areas to shave some of the words off of many
Doomtrooper cards when they created the unlimited edition.  Doomtrooper is
currently printed in 15 different languages, and most languages are longer
than English.  This required the English cards to be trimmed so other
languages could fit on the card once translated. Try fitting a German version
of REINFORCEMENTS on a card - it's not easy!

This is where the process broke down.  The developers assumed that all
Mortificators would be allowed to attack anyone, but the matter was never
really discussed with the designer.  The result is that the words were taken
off the card but the INTENTION was still there.  This was not conveyed to the
designer, who developed his own assumptions for the change.  As it turns out,
the developers wanted any card considered a MORTIFICATOR to be able to attack
any warrior in play, and this was justified by putting the GAME RULES on the
MORTIFICATOR card.  This turned out to be an error on the developers part,
since no universal game rules should have been put on an individual card
(with the exceptions of NOTED COLLECTOR and GRAND TACTICIAN, which provide
rules for new card types).

THE RULING

Now that you know the story, it's time for the OFFICIAL answer.  For most
players, this will be a confirmation of already-established playing methods.
 For the rest (including the designer, so you're not alone) this ruling will
make a few ripplies in your pond (but probably no waves).

We are going to rule in favor of letting any MORTIFICATOR attack any warrior
in play.  This was the original intent all along, and does make for a more
interesting game.  Plus, it is the way we feel MOST players are already
playing. Here is the offical wording:

ANY WARRIOR THAT IS CONSIDERED A MORTIFICATOR MAY ATTACK ANY WARRIOR IN PLAY,
REGARDLESS OF AFFILIATION.  NORMAL RULES OF COMBAT MUST BE FOLLOWED WHEN A
MORTIFICATOR IS ATTACKED, SO THEY MAY NORMALLY ONLY BE ATTACKED BY DARK
LEGION WARRIORS (AND OTHER MORTIFICATORS, OF COURSE).

GAME RAMIFICATIONS

Most players who previously did not allow Crenshaw and Nicholai to attack any
warrior in play probably played this way for one reason: A card only has the
abilities listed DIRECTLY on its card.  This is EXACTLY correct, and this
ruling has absolutely NO affect on that thought.  Instead, we are attaching a
small sub-set of rules to cards that are considered MORTIFICATORS, just like
we attached a set of rules to cards that are considered VEHICLES.

This ruling DOES NOT mean that any card that is "considered" another type of
card automatically gets any special abilities from the original card.  Some
examples:

The CALLISTONIAN INTRUDER card may heal itself by spending 6D.  The
CALLISTONIAN CONQUERER is considered a Callistonian Intruder.  This does NOT
mean that the Conquerer may heal itself by spending 6D.  IT MAY NOT DO THIS.
 The reason is that the Conquerer does not have this ability printed on its
card.

The CLASMAN card gains +1 to A when attacking a Dark Legion card. SEAN
GALLAGHER is considered a Clansman, but he MAY NOT gain +1 to A when
attacking the Dark Legion.  This ability is not written on his card.

So why are these things "considered" other things?  For one reason, and one
reason only: SO THEY MAY BE AFFECTED BY CARDS THAT AFFECT THE ORIGINAL THING.
 For example, the FURY OF THE CLANSMEN mission may be assigned to any
CLANSMAN.  Obviously it may be assigned to the CLANSMAN card.  However, it
may also be assigned to SEAN GALLAGHER because he too is a CLANSMAN.

Also, you may not infer from card titles that a warrior is considered another
type of warrior.  It must be clarified in the notes box of the card.  For
example, SGT. McBRIDE is NOT considered a COMMANDER (SERGEANT) like many
cards in the WARZONE expansion, because it does not say he is on his card!!
 Obviously he IS a sergeant, but he is not affected by cards that affect
COMMANDER (SERGEANT)s. 

To sum up, the following cards may attack ANY warrior in play, regardless of
affiliation:

MORTIFICATOR (from the Doomtrooper basic set)
CRENSHAW THE MORTIFICATOR (from the Doomtrooper basic set)
NICHOLAI (promo card)
CRENSHAW THE REDEEMER (from the MORTIFICATOR expansion - releasing soon)
Any other card that is CONSIDERED A MORTIFICATOR through card play

Thanks for your patience.  We appologize for the confusion in this matter.
 For those of you who have always played this way, you may now breathe
easier.  For the rest, imagine the new deck possibilities!

- Bryan Winter
- Creator of the Doomtrooper, Kult, James Bond 007 and Crow Collectable Card
Games

Źródło: http://www.algonet.se/~patrik_w/doomtrooper/dtfiles/mortprob.txt :)
Zapisane
-Odmień "archiwum".
-No daj spokój.
-Odmień, no...
-Weź się tato.